Chicago, IL's adventurous punks, LURK, recently announced their debut full-length, "Around The Sun", due out September 17th from Pure Noise Records. Today the band have shared the album's infectious new single "See-Thru".

"Around The Sun" finds LURK roaring into a sound that is truly their own with a whirlwind blend of proto-punk eccentricity, new wave swagger, and hardcore ferocity that's as as unique as it is instantly appealing. "See-Thru" follows the album's first single "Crack A Smile"and demonstrates the tight-rope balance between aggression and melody that LURK thrives on. The song kicks in with a biting punk attack in the verses before pivoting on a dime into a shining, anthemic chorus. Vocalist Kevin Kiley discussed the song saying: "Through music and art I’ve met some of the best people I know, but also some of the phoniest. People can try to belittle you or think you won’t catch on to their sh-tty behavior, but it all surfaces one way or another".

Made up of Kiley, drummer Pedro Unzueta, bassist Dan Durley, and guitarists Alex Rackowand Kevin Maida, LURK was formed out of a desire to tap into the infinite possibilities and unrestrained weirdness of punk rock. "We wanted to do something that was sort of 'Ramones meets Devo meets B52s meets The Cramps", explains Kiley. "A lot of those older bands could be pretty out-there, and punk can still be out-there if you want it to be". Recorded by Andy Nelson (Jesus Piece, Harms Way, Weekend Nachos), "Around The Sun" blends the band's influences into something distinctive and refreshingly uninhibited. And LURK's dedication to breaking the mold is palpable in their sound as well as Kiley's lyrics. The passing of time is ever-present on the album and Kiley's snarling hooks are often filled with urgency and the desire to make the most of our short window on the planet. And If "Around The Sun" is any indication, LURK are going to do just that.

LURK have upcoming shows in Chicago supporting Knocked Loose, Incendiary, Militarie Gun, and more. Stay tuned for more tour announcements soon.

Pre-order 'Around The Sun' LP Here!

"Around The Sun" Tracklisting
1. Chromosome
2. Pressure Points
3. Crack A Smile
4. See-Thru
5. Bermuda
6. Sterilizer
7. Fear//Loathing
8. Top Secret
9. Strut

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about