It's just days from the release date of Magnetic Eye's biggest release to date, an exhaustive re-imagining of Pink Floyd's ambitious concept album The Wall by artists from across the heavy music landscape.

Two new premieres have landed to debut more songs from the album, offering up unique re-imagined versions by bands who can't help but put their own stamp on whatever they do.

Prominent heavy/stoner/doom blog Doomed and Stoned presents a pair of Floyd tunes re-built in the buzzing, post-apocalyptic vibe of Swedish Doomsters Domkraft, who've just released their new album Flood (details here) and have contributed reverently upended versions of "Empty Spaces" to The Wall [Redux] as well as "One of These Days" to the companion album Best of Pink Floyd.

Of their approach to both, Domkraft singer/bassist Martin Wegeland says:

"The thing is, you already know there is no way you will be able to make any improvements to the original versions. So we decided to approach the tracks with a pretty relaxed attitude and just do them “as played by Domkraft.” We played around a bit with the elements of the tracks and highlighted a few things that may not have been as prominent in the original versions. We also took ourselves some liberties by incorporating a part of “Echoes” into “One of These Days” and that really just felt like it was meant to be.”

The Melvins

And, courtesy of tastemaking metal blogs Invisible Oranges and Brooklyn Vegan, we receive perhaps the most anticipated contribution to the entire project by The Melvins in the form of their off-center stab at album opener, "In the Flesh?" The song does exactly what one would expect from The Melvins, simultaneously showcasing their tremendous musicianship as well as their never-ending willingness to take something sacred in a stunningly irreverent direction.

Drummer/singer Dale Crover coyly adds:

"We always put our own spin on the song we’re covering. We came up with a genius idea for this one. If I tell you it will spoil the surprise. You’re just going to have to hear it.."

Magnetic Eye Records will release THE WALL [REDUX] and the companion album, Best of Pink Floyd [REDUX], on November 9th, with a massive cross-section of established scene luminaries and ambitious newcomers including Scott Reeder, Summoner, ASG, Open Hand and Mark Lanegan taking on tracks across both volumes. Pre-orders for both are available now at this location.

The full tracklist for The Wall [Redux] is as follows:

Side A
1. In the Flesh? - The Melvins
2. The Thin Ice - Low Flying Hawks
3. Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 1 - Ghastly Sound
4. The Happiest Days of Our Lives - Sergeant Thunderhoof
5. Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 2 - Sasquatch
6. Mother - ASG

Side B
1. Goodbye Blue Sky - Mos Generator
2. Empty Spaces - Domkraft
3. Young Lust - The Slim Kings
4. One of My Turns - Worshipper
5. Don't Leave Me Now - Spaceslug
6. When the Tigers Broke Free - Year of the Cobra
7. Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 3 / Goodbye Cruel World - Greenleaf

Side C
1. Hey You - Summoner
2. Is There Anybody Out There? - Scott Reeder
3. Nobody Home - Mark Lanegan
4. Vera - Ruby the Hatchet
5. Bring the Boys Back Home - Sunflo'er
6. Comfortably Numb - Mars Red Sky

Side D
1. The Show Must Go On - Open Hand
2. In the Flesh - Solace
3. Run Like Hell - Pallbearer
4. Waiting for the Worms - WhiteNails
5. Stop - Blue Heron
6. The Trial - Church of The Cosmic Skull
7. Outside the Wall - Yawning Man

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about