The latest single to be lifted from the band’s upcoming album ‘Shanty Punk’ (out 20 October, via Xtra Mile Recordings) is bright and beatific in its message, and set to a tune simply born for a good old fashioned barn dance.

Sat amongst typically more driving and stomping tracks of the album, “Mantra” offers a welcome moment of reflection and is intended to bring a slightly different flavour to proceedings. Led by the band’s leading lady Lorna Heptinstall, it sees her releasing her inner Dolly Parton across a track dashed with a hint of country and a pinch of Cajun music. Based on the glass half-full mantra that Skinny Lister themselves live-by, Dan from the band explains:

“The song is a reminder to recognise what we have while we have it, enjoy the moment. It’s all too easy to recognise what we had once it’s gone. Sometimes it’s good to not be looking forward or looking back, but to value the here and now. It’s about recognising the moment - reaching out and grabbing it with both hands.”

The sweet country two-step of “Mantra” follows the full-force folk/punk of previous single, “Company Of The Bar”, with both tracks due to feature on ‘Shanty Punk’, Skinny Lister’s sixth, and arguably definitive new album.

The follow-up to 2021’s ‘A Matter of Life & Love’, a freewheeling record that paid homage to all the greatest things in life; ‘Shanty Punk’ goes one further with a concept record that’s simply all about: Skinny Lister. As Dan elaborates:

“Shanty Punk is our concept album – and the concept is Skinny Lister. It’s a pure distillation of what makes Skinny Lister tick, and perhaps a collection of songs that leans further into our folky routes than we’ve ventured in some years. It felt to us like it was time to touch base and celebrate the essence of the band, while at the same time – giving it a fresh and dynamic feel.”

Written and recorded by Skinny Lister, mixed by Patrick Phillips and Daniel Heptinstall, the album was given its mastering polish at the iconic Abbey Road Studios by Frank Arkwright. A glorious mix of chest-thumping anthems, shanty sing-a-longs and folk/punk classics born to be heard live, it’s a full-blooded and frenzied glimpse into the very heart and soul of Skinny Lister, and a thriving statement of just what continues to make these long-standing folk-punk treasures tick. The album is released on 20 October.

Taking ‘Shanty Punk’ out to the masses this Winter, the quintet will be putting it to the test with an extensive run of UK shows throughout November and December. The band have also just announced a full European tour for 2024, full details here. With a reputation for one of the most uplifting and exhilarating shows in the biz, the listed UK dates as as follows:


  • 22 LIVERPOOL O2 Academy 2
  • 23 CARLISLE The Brickyard
  • 24 GLASGOW King Tuts
  • 25 BELFAST Voodoo
  • 26 DUBLIN Grand Social
  • 30 NORWICH Arts Centre


  • 01 HULL Social
  • 02 STOCKTON Ku Club
  • 03 SHEFFIELD Leadmill
  • 08 SOUTHAMPTON Engine Rooms
  • 09 PLYMOUTH The Depo
  • 10 SWANSEA Sin City
  • 14 BRISTOL The Fleece
  • 15 BRIGHTON Chalk
  • 16 LONDON Lafayette


  • 24 - Antwerp, Trix Bar
  • 25 - Haarlem, Het Patronaat
  • 26 - Eindhoven, Effenaar
  • 27 - Cologne, Luxor
  • 28 - Frankfurt, Das Bett
  • 29 - Stuttgart, Im Wizemann
  • 31 - Solothurn, Kofmehl


  • 1 - Luzern, Sedel Club
  • 2 - Munich, Ampere
  • 3 - Vienna, Arena
  • 4 - Prague, Kasarny Karlin
  • 6 - Dresden, Beatpol
  • 7 - Berlin, Hole44
  • 8 - Hamburg, Knust
  • 9 - Utrecht, Tivoli De Helling
  • 10 - Paris, Le Boule Noire

Tickets for all shows across the UK and Europe are on sale now HERE.

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about