After releasing a collection of bright and dynamic delights throughout this year so far, which have included 'Sleep Sound', 'Call Me Out' and 'Safe To Say', Bristol-based indie outfit Make Friends return once again to announce the details behind their highly-anticipated new EP 'Is This Real', alongside the infectious new single 'Fever'.

Featuring the three previous shared efforts, the new five-track collection 'Is This Real' showcases more of that fresh and energetic direction they have cultivated for themselves over the last few years. Showing off their flair for exciting and adventurous indie-rock tropes, the band are emerging out of the lockdowns with a rejuvenated and ambitious sensibility.

The release's new single 'Fever', recorded alongside Peter Sené (Everything Everything, Alfie Templeman) and mixed by James Trevascus (Invada Studios, Billy Nomates), perfectly illustrates the forward-thinking approach they have taken to this new EP. With a rich and airy atmosphere, conjuring up a dreamy aesthetic throughout, there is a bold energy to this new release that encapsulates the aura and exuberance of a post-pandemic world.

Speaking about the new song, the band said, "We began writing Fever around the time restrictions were beginning to lift after the first lockdown. The song is about the uncertainty of that period and the internal struggles of deciding whether it was okay to start going back to some form of normality. After being stuck inside for so long, the idea of being able to do the things you love again sounded appealing, but there was a stigma attached to it that made it feel wrong, despite what we were being told."

After selling out Rough Trade in Bristol pre-pandemic, Make Friends' live show has rebounded in dramatic fashion, supporting LAB Records' King No-One at Bristol's Thekla and the O2 Academy Islington. Following these shows, the band are set to embark on a headline tour across the UK, booked in partnership with Marshall Amplifiers' exciting new live agency.

See the full list of UK live tour dates below. Tickets available here.

16th Oct - Wild Paths Festival

*December Headline Tour*

  • 2nd - Oporto, Leeds
  • 3rd - Little Buildings, Newcastle
  • 4th - The Jacaranda, Liverpool
  • 9th - The Hope & Ruin, Brighton
  • 11th - Night People, Manchester
  • 16th - Muthers, Birmingham
  • 17th - The Grace, London
  • 18th - Thekla, Bristol

Brought together through a shared love of progressive indie-pop, Make Friends formed whilst studying in Bath. The band really found their sound when they migrated a few miles down the road to Bristol and began working with producer Peter Sené, a touring member of Everything Everything and John Grant.

Whilst the band take cues from contemporaries such as Sam Fender and Sundara Karma, their inspiration has always been driven from classics, be that the bass-driven groove of The Police or the atmospheric, chorus guitars of The Cure. Make Friends have never found themselves put into boxes and freedom during their writing has always been important, giving them the space to push boundaries and try something totally new.

Moving into their 3rd body of work 'Is This Real', once again produced with Sené, the band have continued to build on the formula that has got them so far, but with the dials turned up universally. The songwriting has become more nuanced, the production stepped up and the mixing - courtesy of Invada Studios', James Trevascus (Beak, Billy Nomates) - has given their music the superior sound it deserves.

To the delight of long-term industry fans James Threlfall (BBC Introducing), Radio X's Jack Wood, who described EP track 'Sleep Sound' as his "anthem of the summer" and Amazing Radio DJs Shell Zenner and Charlie Ashcroft, who have continually supported the EP, playlisting each release; 'Is This Real' is the EP of a band finding their stride. Driven to continually progress however, Make Friends are well into the process of writing their debut album, due to be released in 2022.


Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about