Originally formed in Santiago (Chile) in the year 2000 by guitarist Rodrigo Morris, bassist Rodrigo Gálvez and vocalist Marcelo Rodríguez, later joined by guitarist Sergio Álvarez and drummer Alejandro Arce, Mar de Grises can be considered one of the most respected doom/death metal acts ever emerged from South America. Admired by newcomers and beloved by experts, the quintet released their first full length "The Tatterdemalion Express" in 2004 via Firebox Records, the label to be at the time. After their first European tour and having Juan Escobar as new frontman, the band started the recording for "Draining the Waterheart", finally released in 2008 by Firebox.

Never playing by the genre´s rules, these two seminal albums made them sign a deal with the most respected French label Season of Mist for their 2010 third album "Stream Inwards". Three years later Mar de Grises put an end to their career never to come back.

This 2020 The Vinyl Division proudly releases both, "The Tatterdemalion Express" and "Draining The Waterheart", on double gatefold vinyl (black or colored) with remastered vinyl audio by Jaime Gómez Arellano, know for his work with bands such as Paradise Lost, Ulver, Cathedral, Ghost...

An insert with detailed liner notes for each album written by the former band members plus fellow musicians and friends from all around the globe is included. The full story is conducted by the musician (Eternal Storm), tour manager, promoter representative and all – rounder Daniel Maganto.

The revamped vinyl layout for both albums is the work of the Spanish photographer, designer and visual artist Irene Serrano (Déhà, Yossi Sassi, Helevorn, Jens Bogren, Rotting Christ, Devin Townsend, Pain of Salvation, etc.).

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about