Few projects at the forefront of contemporary art truly push visceral sonic boundaries in the way that Yves Tumor does. With an arc that impartially sits between psych-rock and modern pop, comparisons only serve as limitations intended to define that which cannot be. Yves Tumor melds restraint and chaos; diluting reality by giving meaning to the abstract and allowing for dissonance to be seen and heard as harmony. Today the next chapter begins with the announcement of the new album, Heaven To A Tortured Mind, set for release April 3rd on WARP.

Alongside the forthcoming album, co-produced by Justin Raisen (Sky Ferreira, Ariel Pink, Charli XCX), and previously announced YVES TUMOR AND ITS BAND headlining world tour, Yves Tumor shares new single "Gospel For A New Century" with an official video directed by Isamaya Ffrench. Thunderous horns and discordant beats give Yves Tumor a cacophonous runway to the unexpected anthem the title itself affirms. The video further seeps into the Yves Tumor psyche, with a Fellini-esq androgynous underworld as the setting for a mephistophelian sermon atop a crumbling throne, backed by platform-hooved dancers and of course the cheeky requisite laser light show.

Heaven To A Tortured Mind marks the fourth official full-length release from Yves Tumor and the follow-up to 2018's critically acclaimed and era-defining WARP release, Safe In The Hands Of Love. Breakout singles "Noid", "Licking An Orchid" and "Lifetime" shifted critical perception into media such as the New York Times, Rolling Stone, Pitchfork, the FADER, NPR and more awarding the album as one of the best releases of the year. Yves Tumor captivated audiences around the world with an incendiary live show that landed slots at premiere US festivals, most notably Coachella, Primavera and Pitchfork Midwinter Festival in 2019. Starting next month, Yves Tumor and Its Band returns to the stage, heading out on the first North American leg and continuing on in late Spring through early Summer in the UK and Europe - full list of dates below.

Yves Tumor has steered the project into a whole new realm with Heaven To A Tortured Mind, piercing through contradiction, redefining expression through song, and catapulting Yves Tumor into the next phase of illusion and evolution. More music and videos to come and additional dates to be announced soon.

PRE-ORDER HEAVEN TO A TORTURED MIND TRACKLISTING

1. Gospel For A New Century
2. Medicine Burn
3. Identity Trade
4. Kerosene!
5. Hasdallen Lights
6. Romanticist
7. Dream Palette
8. Super Stars
9. Folie Imposée
10. Strawberry Privilege
11. Asteroid Blues
12. A Greater Love
YVES TUMOR & ITS BAND 2020 HEADLINING TOUR WITH SPECIAL GUEST ECCO2K (*)
PURCHASE TICKETS: torturedmind.help
  • Tue 03 Mar — Exit/In — Nashville TN
  • Wed 04 Mar — One Eyed Jacks — New Orleans LA
  • Fri 06 Mar — White Oak Music Hall — Houston TX
  • Sat 07 Mar — Club Dada — Dallas TX
  • Sun 08 Mar — The Parish — Austin TX*
  • Tue 10 Mar — Meow Wolf — Santa Fe NM*
  • Wed 11 Mar — The Crescent Ballroom — Phoenix AZ*
  • Fri 13 Mar — The Fonda — Los Angeles CA*
  • Sat 14 Mar — Constellation Room — Santa Ana CA*
  • Thu 02 Apr –– 1015 Folsom –– San Francisco CA*
  • Sat 04 Apr –– Fortune Sound Club –– Vancouver BC*
  • Sun 05 Apr –– Neumos –– Seattle WA*
  • Tue 07 Apr –– Urban Lounge –– Salt Lake City UT*
  • Wed 08 Apr –– Bluebird Theater –– Denver CO*
  • Fri 10 Apr –– The Slowdown –– Omaha NE*
  • Sat 11 Apr –– Fine Line –– Minneapolis MN*
  • Sun 12 Apr –– Lincoln Hall –– Chicago IL*
  • Mon 13 Apr –– Mahall's –– Lakewood OH*
  • Tue 14 Apr –– El Club –– Detroit MI*
  • Thu 16 Apr –– The Mod Club –– Toronto ON*
  • Sat 18 Apr –– L'Astral –– Montreal QC*
  • Sun 19 Apr –– The Sinclair –– Cambridge MA*
  • Mon 20 Apr –– U Street Music Hall –– Washington DC*
  • Wed 22 Apr –– Kings –– Raleigh NC*
  • Thu 23 Apr –– Terminal West –– Atlanta GA*
  • Sat 25 Apr –– Ceremonia Festival –– Mexico City
  • Fri 01 May –– III Points Festival –– Miami FL
  • Sun 03 May –– Johnny Brendas –– Philadelphia PA*
  • Tue 05 May –– Webster Hall –– New York City*
  • Tue 19 May –– Whelan's –– Dublin IE*
  • Wed 20 May –– Electric Brixton –– London UK*
  • Thu 21 May –– Villette Sonique Festival –– Paris FR
  • Sat 23 May –– Paradiso Noord –– Amsterdam NL*
  • Sun 24 May –– Vega –– Copenhagen DK*
  • Tue 26 May –– Gretchen –– Berlin DE*
  • Wed 27 May –– Hydrozagadka –– Warsaw PL*
  • Sat 30 May –– Balzaal Vooruit –– Gent BE*
  • Fri 10 Jul –– Pohoda Festival –– Trenčín SK
  • Sat 11 Jul –– Bilbao BBK Live –– Bilbao ES
  • Fri 17 Jul –– Dour Festival –– Dour BE
+ MORE DATES TO BE ANNOUNCED

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about