Following the release of two career-high albums, including last week’s chart-bound long-player, Loophole, Michael Head and The Red Elastic Band carry their expanded songbook to 12 UK & Ireland venues this winter, culminating in the previously-announced, unmissable homecoming to Liverpool’s Philharmonic Hall in mid-December. While looking to match or better his highest ever chart position, set for 2022’s acclaimed Dear Scott, this week, demand to hear Head’s expansive set, celebrating over 40 years in music, will see him open his second tour of the year in Cambridge on Thu 31 October 2024.

Tickets for all newly announced, upcoming UK & Ireland dates will go on sale to fans at 10am on Fri 24 May 2024.

Loophole’s course into the UK Official Album Chart has been set in the midweek chart at No.6 with fans expected to rally round the revered songwriter, once named by NME as the UK’s greatest, and push for a new personal best. Having passed milestones in 2024, notably the 40th anniversary of the release of his first album as lead singer of The Pale Fountains, and 25 years since the release of Shack’s classic HMS Fable, Head has been able to take stock as well as pushing on into a bright future.

Gathering with fans to celebrate the past, the present and everything that lies ahead, all of the newly confirmed and existing Michael Head & The Red Elastic Band Loophole Winter 2024 Tour dates are as follows:

  • Thu 31 Oct – Cambridge, Story's Field Centre
  • Fri 1 Nov – Huddersfield, The Parish
  • Sun 3 Nov – Edinburgh, Caves
  • Fri 8 Nov – Leek, The Foxlowe Arts Centre
  • Tue 3 Dec – Dublin, Sugar Club
  • Wed 4 Dec – Belfast, Empire
  • Fri 6 Dec – Bristol, Thekla
  • Sat 7 Dec – Nottingham, Rescue Rooms
  • Sun 8 Dec – Sheffield, Foundry Studio
  • Tue 10 Dec – York, The Crescent
  • Wed 11 Dec – Kendal, Brewery Arts
  • Fri 13 Dec – Liverpool, Philharmonic Hall

Tickets for all newly announced shows will go on sale, alongside any remaining tickets for Head’s homecoming at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, via links available at

Loophole was released on multiple special vinyl formats as well as limited edition, signed cassette, CD and digital versions. The album, the third that Head has made with The Red Elastic Band, was recorded at the celebrated YAWN Studios in West Kirby in the company of producer, Bill Ryder-Jones, and features gifted musicians, Phil Murphy (drums), Tom Powell (bass), Nathaniel Cummings (guitars/backing vocals) and Martin Smith (trumpet).

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht: