Wilma Archer has today shared his newest track, “Last Sniff” which features MF DOOM, one of hip-hop’s most notorious and lyrically agile artists. The video, directed by Jesse Collett is available to watch now. The track comes as Archer announces his debut album A Western Circular, which is due for release on 3rd April 2020. A Western Circular is Will Archer's debut under his new nom-de-plume, following early EPs and an album under the now-retired Slime moniker.

Within A Western Circular lies an exciting and varied crew of guest artists including MF DOOM, Samuel T. Herring (Future Islands), Sudan Archives, and Laura Groves, all contributing vocals to his rich, dexterous compositions. These collaborations are the by-product of several years of writing and producing. Recently, he’s appeared extensively on the debut albums by Sudan Archives (writing the lead single, 'Confessions', no less) and Nilüfer Yanya (contributing seven songs), alongside work with Celeste, and another writer and production credit on Jessie Ware’s Devotion.

An album that’s been in the works for the past half-decade, A Western Circular is a bold, reflective piece that directly relates to Archer’s personal experiences of life and death, centered on one particular week where they breathed with equal intensity. The record’s themes of greed, love and loyalty all relate back to that specific time. Inspired by author John Fante, A Western Circular is a spiritual voyage through life’s pushing and pulling: finding beauty in the rough, sadness in the bright. Ostensibly, it’s a poignant reflection on the duality of the human condition.

On the record, Archer has uncovered new depths and forged an invigorating singular sound - supple and multi-layered, honouring his acoustic heritage and influence, while building a sonic universe that commands contemporary references to everything from Frank Zappa to Yasuaki Shimuzu, Robert Wyatt to Arthur Russell.

A Western Circular is available to pre-order now, with a limited edition album bundle including white label 12” of Last Sniff featuring MF Doom to be sold at selected retailers.

A Western Circular track list:

  1. Western Circular
  2. Scarecrow
  3. Last Sniff with MF DOOM
  4. Killing Crab
  5. The Boon with Samuel T. Herring
  6. Cheater with Sudan Archives
  7. Cures & Wounds
  8. Decades with Samuel T. Herring & Laura Groves
  9. Ugly Feelings (Again)
  10. Worse Off West

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about