THE SONIC DAWN was formed in Copenhagen in late 2013, by childhood friends Emil Bureau, Jonas Waaben and Niels ‘Bird’ Fuglede. They were soon picked up by the local underground label Levitation Records, who released their debut 7-inch, Down the Line (2014). During this period they toured Denmark extensively and made their first international appearances.

On October 31st 2015 they made their album debut with Perception on Nasoni Records. The album featured Erik ‘Errka’ Petersson on organ/keys and extremely colorful cover artwork by Robin Gnista, both of whom THE SONIC DAWN have collaborated with on subsequent albums. In April 2017, sophomore album Into the Long Night was released worldwide on Heavy Psych Sounds Records. Written by day and recorded at night during a month of complete isolation in a country house by The North Sea, it is as light and gracious as it is dark and mysterious.

THE SONIC DAWN have worked intensely on their third full-length "Eclipse", to be released with Heavy Psych Sounds Records on February 1st 2019. Both the songwriting and the production was the most comprehensive in the band's history, fueled by certain tragedies in and around THE SONIC DAWN. Eclipse is arguably the band’s strongest and most personal album to date, equally catchy and psychedelic.

"Eclipse" is the product of a full year’s labor, with 13 blistering tracks carefully selected among over more than 40 candidates. The result became a cinematic journey in sonic technicolor with catchy melodies that cast a mysterious shadow. Recorded to tape in The Village Recording, Denmark’s best analog studio, Eclipse was produced by THE SONIC DAWN and Thomas Vang (Roger Waters). Mastered in the Svenska Grammofonstudion by Hans Olsson Brookes (Graveyard) and cut to vinyl in the Abbey Road Studios lead "Eclipse" to an ultimate sound quality.

1. Forever 1969
2. Psychedelic Ranger
3. The Stranger
4. No Chaser
5. Opening Night
6. Circle of Things
7. On the Edge of Our Time
8. Christiania
9. The Last Page
10. Love Bird
11. To Change Who We Are
12. Islands in Time
13. Towards the End

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More info
More about