Following its worldwide premiere on Zane Lowe’s Beats1 show, British-Australian indie mavericks Sunset Sons are today sharing a new single titled "Heroes". The track is taken from their forthcoming second album, "Blood Rush Déjà Vu", which arrives November 1, 2019 and follows on from their debut "Very Rarely Say Die" (2016) and last year’s 2-million-streams "The River EP".

"Heroes" sees Sunset Sons double-down on the electricity; two chiming guitars crash in from the get-go, jump-starting the single with a new-found gusto and revamped creative approach. Talking about making the song – which they describe as being about “nostalgia for better times” – drummer Jed Laidlaw says: "When we were recording ‘Heroes’ with Catherine, we knew we were making something special with this album. We knew it was going to be good, because the songs were there, but once we explored new sounds, particularly with two guitars on the record, everything just had more depth. We started to experiment with string arrangements and synths on ‘Heroes’ and Catherine had an idea for an early counter-melody before the chorus and the whole song took off. I get goosebumps every time I hear the intro”.

Recorded between London and the band’s adopted hometown of Hossegor on France’s Atlantic coast, the assured, mature feel of "Blood Rush Déjà Vu" belies Sunset Sons’ origins as a group of Brit-Aussie surfers who shared a love of music on the side. Swapping waves for stages and beaches for festival fields, the fast-growing successes of the past few years have flipped the dynamic, keeping surfing firmly sidelined as a hobby squeezed in during the occasional break from touring.

"Blood Rush Déjà Vu" – showing a darker, more urgent side to the trio, whilst retaining their knack for huge, festival-ready choruses – follows a densely packed 3 year run of writing and touring from Sunset Sons. Securing themselves an AIM nomination for "Best Live Act" along the way, the band have clocked up over 250 shows, including tour runs with Imagine Dragons and Nothing But Thieves – the latter culminating in a packed-out show at Alexandra Palace. The band have also embarked on several sold-out headline runs of their own; prior to a short string of underplay shows earlier this year (including Camden Assembly), the band have also previously sold out London’s Shepherd’s Bush Empire and Koko.

"Blood Rush Déjà Vu" Tracklist
1. Superman
2. Say Hi
3. Eyes Wide Open
4. Take Control
5. Problems
6. Favourite Mistake
7. Heroes
8. One Of A Kind
9. Alien
10. End of The Line*

*exclusive track only available on physical formats

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about