Mia Joy is announcing her debut album, Spirit Tamer which will be released on Fire Talk Records on May 7th, with the introduction of new single “See Us”. On "See Us" Rocha sings about a burgeoning relationship, with a gauzy and delicate chimes intro and entrancing guitar strums, bringing to the surface those initial sentiments of hope. “”See Us” was the last song I wrote on the record, back in January of 2020” Mia says, “I had fallen in love again and felt like I could see a promising future with plenty of opportunities. Filled with optimism of love and expansion that we could better our lives. Ironically, the pandemic hit two months later, that relationship ended and now this is a very beautiful bittersweet reminder that this hope can still exist for us someday.”

Mia Joy has previously released album cut "Haha", a darkly humorous take on Mia's struggles with suicidal ideation and a sonic encapsulation of her personal coping mechanisms and processes. The song focuses on the idea that mortality is a constant anxiety, but it doesn't always need to be and that acceptance of our fleeting existence is something that can be fun, and funny, if looked at in just the right light.

Mia Joy’s brand of ethereal pop is equally indebted to 90s R&B Icons such as Sade and Selena as to the ambient compositions of Grouper. Intricate layers form an atmospheric spell around Joy’s music. Her insistent willingness to be vulnerable strikingly shines through each track, revealing even deeper depths through repeated listens. Her honesty and passion, for music, for life, for survival, are at the heart of her incredible debut.

Mia Joy is composed of lead singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Mia Rocha, Joseph Farago on keys and Emerson Hunton on percussion. Spirit Tamer was recorded at Pallet Sound studios in Chicago by Michael Mac and co-produced with Rocha.

Pre Order: https://ffm.to/miajoy

01. Spirit Tamer
02. Ye Old Man
03. Heaven Forbid
04. Freak
05. Across Water
06. See Us
07. Saturn
08. Haha
09. Sword (I Carry)
10. Phone Home
11. Candle Prayer
12. Last Night Together

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about