Villa Carlotta 5959 will be released via Karisma Records tomorrow, November 2 on all formats, please send us your reviews + playlists now!

Formed in 2005 by Kim Ljung as a vehicle for material he didn’t think would be suitable for either SEIGMEN or ZEROMANCER , bands for whom he is both the bassist and main songwriter, LJUNGBLUT eventually expanded from a solo project, which saw the release of three albums, into a fully fledged band. Dan Heide (ZEROMANCER, RED7) on guitars, Ted Skogmann (APOPTYGMA BERZERK) on drums , Joakim Brendsrød on keys and Sindre Pedersen on bass, joined Ljung, on keys and vocals, and, as a quintet, the band released two independent albums with Norwegian lyrics.

Encompassing a wide range of tempos and dynamics, the new album Villa Carlotta 5959 presents the listeners with a cohesive sound and a melancholy mood, swathing Ljung’s characteristic vocals in vintage synths and instruments.

Ljungblut originally started out as a solo project from Seigmen/ Zeromancer bass player and main songwriter Kim Ljung in 2005.

He needed an outlet for songs which didn’t fit in with his main bands. After three solo albums in English, the project evolved into a full quintet – and they released two independent albums in Norwegian.

Villa Carlotta 5959 is the sixth Ljungblut album, and the last in a trilogy of albums with Norwegian lyrics. Here, several songs have historical references. Hasselblad about the 12 Hasselblad cameras left behind on the surface of the Moon. Superga referring to the Superga height outside Torino, most known for the cathedral and the plane crash that killed the Torino football team in 1949. Then there are songs referring to Ljung’s chronic migraine – Min Krig (My war) and Aldri helt stille (Never completely quiet).

The album has a wide range of tempos and dynamics, but at the same time a cohesive sound and melancholy mood. An organic sound with Kim Ljung’s characteristic voice surrounded by a plethora of vintage synths and instruments. The basis of the album was recorded live in studio and mixed by Alex Møklebust (Seigmen/ Zeromancer) and Terje Johannesen.


01. Hasselblad 

02. Oktober

03. Til Warszawa 

04. 235 

05. Superga

06. Diamant

07. Himmelen som vet

08. Ohnesorg

09. Aldri helt stille

10. Min Krig

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More info
More about