Today Jazz singer and performer Judith Owen is releasing "Fine Brown Frame", the second single of her forthcoming studio album, "Come On & Get It", set to be released September 16th on Twanky Records. "Fine Brown Frame" comes alongside a video filmed at the legendary Preservation Hall in New Orleans, and featuring great musicians David Torkanowsky on piano, Pedro Segundo on drums, Lex Warshawsky on Double Bass and Kevin Louis on Trumpet.

Listen & Watch "Fine Brown Frame"

Listen "Come On & Get It" here- PRIVATE LINK - PLEASE DO NOT SHARE

Delicious, delightful, bodacious, brave, insightful, seductive and fun - just some of the many adjectives one might use to describe Judith Owen's fascinating and alluring new album.

The release of "Come On & Get It" will accompany select tour dates worldwide, including stops in Paris, New York, New Orleans, Los Angeles, and London.

Owen, a now New Orleans native who originally hails from Wales, conceived of the project as a result of her childhood fascination with the jazz music of some of the ballsiest women of the Jazz and Blues world, including unsung trailblazers- Nellie Lutcher and Julia Lee whom she discovered hidden on the shelves of her father's record collection alongside the likes of Oscar Peterson and Jelly Roll Morton. Captivated and enchanted by these "unapologetic" chanteuses of the 40's/50's (Pearl Bailey, Dinah Washington, Blossom Dearie, Peggy Lee, Julie London), who were singing about sex - and enjoying it at a time when women were meant to sing about romance - Owen made it her mission to dig deep and find out more from both a musical and historical perspective. The result is "Come On & Get It," the most joyful, uplifting, and empowering project to emerge out of Covid; a throw-back with a fresh feel complete with a look and style that speaks of all those delectable, hugely entertaining women who broke the glass ceiling with their shoe heels and were ever so proud of it!

Recorded at Esplanade Studios in New Orleans, "Come On & Get It" features a stellar cast of musicians, including Jason Marsalis, Donald Harrison, Charlie Gabriel, Nicholas Payton, David Torkanowsky, Kevin Louis,

Evan Christopher, Ricardo Pascal and many more.

The first single from the album, "Blossom's Blues", has already garnered over 180,000 views on YouTube, over 75,000 Spotify streams within the first few weeks of release and has been chatted-up by jazz powerhouse and BBC radio host Jamie Cullum, who gave it a rave.

To hear Judith talk about the history of the project in an EPK video, please click here

"Come On & Get It" Tracklist:

1. Blossom's Blues

2. Satchel Mouth Baby

3. The Spinach Song

4. Tess's Torch Song

5. He's A Tramp

6. He's A Real Gone Guy

7. Big Long Slidin' Thing

8. Fine Brown Frame

9. Everything I've Got Belongs To You

10. Come On & Get It

11. Nice Girls Don't Stay For Breakfast

12. Why Don't You Do Right?

13. Snatch & Grab It

14. Long John Blues

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about