Photo credit: Matilda Hill-Jenkins

In April, Hot Chip announced their return with news of their eighth album Freakout/Release – due Aug 19th – as well as the first taste of it with storming single “Down”. They are now pleased to release three new remixes of the track.

First up are Sworn Virgins; signed to Soulwax’s Deewee label the duo have delivered an absolute epic remix. Conjuring up that heady, sweaty and sexy atmosphere of the dancefloor as the idiosyncratic moans of Clams Baker (Warmduscher) are wrapped around a pounding beat and the Universal Togetherness Band’s sample that Hot Chip’s original song builds from. The second remix comes from Sheffield born artist Nyra; a resident DJ at Adonis, he adds an italo-disco hue to “Down” bringing it into the synth-pop world of Bobby O and Pet Shop Boys. And the final remix is courtesy of Selector Dub Narcotic aka Calvin Johnson (Beat Happening) who slows down and distorts the original, adding layers of vocoder whilst uttering “Hot Chip has the answer”.

Stream the “Down” remixes here.

The five piece – comprised of Owen Clarke, Al Doyle, Joe Goddard, Felix Martin (not pictured) and Alexis Taylor – have also confirmed a string of UK instores ahead of their 4-night residency at London’s o2 Academy Brixton. Tickets for the Banquet and Resident instores go on sale Tuesday 21st @ 9 AM BST and tickets are on sale for the Rough Trade East instore now from here.

Upcoming instores

  • Thursday 18th August – Banquet @ PRYZM, Kingston
  • Friday 19th August - Resident @ Chalk, Brighton
  • Tuesday 23rd August - Rough Trade East, London (DJ set)

Full tour dates listed below

Freakout/Release is another dizzying high in a multi-decade career that’s seen Hot Chip continuing to innovate and develop a rich, resonant songcraft. Written and recorded in the band’s newly minted Relax & Enjoy studio in East London, a creative space that Al Doyle put together before and during the first year of the COVID-19 pandemic. Coalescing in the Relax & Enjoy studio was essential in establishing the album’s lively, full-band sound and marks the first time Hot Chip began work on a new record all together as well as reuniting them in the same room for the first time following their touring behind 2019’s A Bath Full Of Ecstasy.

Fittingly, harnessing Hot Chip’s irreplicable live energy in a studio space was in the front of the band’s mind, as they found themselves particularly inspired by their cover of Beastie Boys’ “Sabotage” that’s become a setlist staple. “The idea of being out of control is always there in dance music, in a positive sense,” Doyle explains while discussing the cover’s influence on the new album.

Lyrically, Freakout/Release explores darker emotions than previous Hot Chip albums have, drawing from the personal and the political to chart the ways people survive even amidst immovable struggles. “We were living through a period where it was very easy to feel like people were losing control of their lives in different ways,” Goddard explains. “There’s a darkness that runs through a lot of those tracks.”

Over the last 18 years, Hot Chip have established themselves among similar British luminaries like Pet Shop Boys and Depeche Mode—a true gap-bridging between the worlds of pop and dance music, with a catalogue of songs that move bodies and touch hearts with equal impact.

Upcoming live dates

  • 8th July – Cruilla Barcelona
  • 15th July – Super Bock Super Rock, Lisbon
  • 16th July – Beat Herder, Clitheroe
  • 5th August – Junction 1 Summer Series, Glasgow
  • 6th August – Wide Skies & Butterflies, Norfolk
  • 2nd September – Cala Mijas Festival, Malaga
  • 21st September – o2 Academy Brixton, London
  • 22nd September – o2 Academy Brixton, London
  • 23rd September – o2 Academy Brixton, London
  • 24th September – o2 Academy Brixton, London
  • 1st October – Tempodrom, Berlin
  • 2nd October – Live Music Hall, Cologne
  • 3rd October – AB Ballroom, Brussels
  • 5th October – Tivoli Ronda, Utrecht
  • 8th October – Olympia, Paris


Freakout/Release will be available on Dom Mart exclusive orange-coloured double vinyl, Indies exclusive brown-coloured double vinyl, standard double vinyl, CD and digitally. All vinyl editions have an exclusive track “The Most Painful Game”. Pre-order: Dom Mart | Digital

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about