Today, Santa Cruz-based hardcore punk band Scowl has released a pummeling new single and video “Bloodhound”. The song will be featured on their upcoming LP How Flowers Grow, out November 19th on Flatspot Records. Clocking in at just over 90 seconds, “Bloodhound” is a breakneck exploration of punk sensibility with a vicious, angular edge. The band hurtles through the performance while remaining in complete control of the chaos, perfectly supporting the fiery vocal performance from lead singer Kat. The video reflects the band's strong-willed sense of style; emphasizing their individual aesthetics alongside their ability to eschew genre expectations as a formidable musical unit. You can check out the video for “Bloodhound” here and stream the track here.

The band has this to say about their new single:

The ten songs on How Flowers Grow could be a masterclass in how to write authentic, heartfelt punk and hardcore without losing the sense of youthful enthusiasm and fun that makes the genre compelling to begin with. The lyrics are delivered with a biting sense of anger and cynicism, dealing with everything from personal betrayals to socio-economic strife. You’ll hear sonic inspiration from groups like Black Flag, Justice League, Negative Approach, The Rival Mob, and even New York Dolls, all delivered with a fury and intensity that makes Scowl one of the most exciting bands of their era.

How Flowers Grow Tracklist:
1. Bloodhound
2. Dead To Me
3. Pay Privilege Due
4. Trophy Hunter
5. Seeds To Sow
6. Idle Roaring Room
7. Fuck Around
8. Roots
9. Four Walls
10. How Flowers Grow

Tour Dates:

  • 10/3/2021 - Fullerton,CA @ Programme w/ No Pressure, Dare, and Risk
  • 10/8/2021 + 10/9/2021 - Denver, CO @ Convulse Fest w/ Militarie Gun, Spy, Spine, Ingrown + More
  • 10/20/2021 - Fort Worth, TX @ Ridglea Lounge w/ Gagging Order, Tell Lies, The Kinky Bastards
  • 10/22/2021 + 10/23/2021 - Tulsa, OK @ Promcore w/ Zulu, Kharma, Purgatory, and More
  • 11/6/2021 - San Francisco, CA @ The Parkside w/ Powerhouse, Sunami

EU/UK w/ Comeback Kid, Be Well, Devil In Me

  • 01/19/2022 - Belin, DE @ Hole44
  • 01/20/2022 - Hanover, DE @ Faust
  • 01/21/2022 - Bochum, DE @ Matrix
  • 01/22/2022 - Karlsruhe, DA @ Weisse Rose
  • 01/23/2022 - Utrecht, NL @ Tivoli Pandora
  • 01/24/2022 - Bristol, UK @ Fleece
  • 01/25/2022 - Birmingham, UK @ Mama Roux
  • 01/26/2022 - Leeds, UK @ Key Club
  • 01/27/2022 - Manchester, UK @ Rebellion
  • 01/28/2022 - London, UK @ The Dome
  • 01/29/2022 - Hasselt, BE @ Muziekodroom
  • 01/30/2022 - Paris, FR @ Gibus
  • 01/31/2022 - Wil, CH @ Gare De Lion
  • 02/01/2022 - Milan, IT @ Legend Club
  • 02/02/2022 - Munich, DE @ Backstage
  • 02/03/2022 - Prague, CZ @ Futurium
  • 02/04/2022 - Leipzig, DE @ Conne Island

Hailing from Santa Cruz, CA, hardcore punk band Scowl has burst onto the scene as one of the most authentic young voices in the genre, influenced by everything from 80s’ hardcore, punk, and Oi to modern alternative pop. The band has made a name for themselves with songs that are as reflective and dark as they are fun. A new addition to the Flatspot Records family, the label will be releasing their upcoming album How Flowers Grow later this fall. Formed in 2019 and consisting of vocalist Kat, guitarist Malachi, bassist Bailey, and drummer Cole, Scowl came out swinging with their fuzzed-out self-titled demo that same year. Follow up EP Reality After Reality (2019) cemented them as one of hardcore's rising star bands to watch, with anthemic tracks like “Retail Hell” quickly becoming staples of their caustic live set. The band has shared the stage with the likes of Terror, Mindforce, Gulch, Zulu, and DARE and have their eyes set on finishing 2021 strong - planning numerous tours and gearing up to release their first full-length.

“Bloodhound” WATCH |

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about