Sometimes the world is so overwhelming that the thought of another reality seems like a salvation. In their new single 'Dreamstate' the Berlin post-hardcore trio Future Palace describes the escape into a dream world with an unmatched musical vigor.

Dense synthwave arpeggios put the epic instrumentals into fluid hovering states, and the energetic drums sound like a racing heartbeat, while singer Maria Lessing lets all emotions run free in a monumental hook. With the crashing breakdown in the finale, in which the constructed illusion finally collapses like a nightmare, it becomes clear that this escape offers no real way out. In their new song, Future Palace emphasize both sonically and lyrically a desire for escapism that arises from deep pain.

That 'Dreamstate' has become such a massive sonic demonstration of power is not at all evident from the song's genesis. "At first, I actually intended to write a piano ballad," says guitarist Manuel Kohlert, "but the song quickly became much harder."

"It's now one of my favorite songs on our new album," adds Lessing.
The organic development process of the song, in which quiet sounds were ultimately overtaken by massive anger, can perhaps even be read symbolically – after all, the singer was also thinking about her career as a musician, which sometimes seems just as overwhelming. "Very often I lack the strength to see it all through," she continues. "I think many people can empathize with this feeling of being overwhelmed in our performance-oriented society." For the music video of 'Dreamstate', the band once again collaborated with Pavel Trebukhin and traveled back to Riga, Latvia.

'Dreamstate' is another single from Future Palace's upcoming third album »Distortion«, which will be released on September 6th.
Previously, the singles 'Uncontrolled', 'The Echoes of Disparity', and 'Malphas' were released.

Available worldwide on all DSPs at midnight

Pre-order »Distortion« now as CD, limited colored vinyl, together with exclusive merch option at the Arising Empire Online Shop!

»Distortion« track listing:
01. Uncontrolled
02. Malphas
03. Panic Paralysis
04. The Echoes of Disparity feat. Charle Rolfe from As Everything Unfolds
05. Dreamstate
06. Decarabia
07. in Too Deep
08. Rays of Light
09. A Fool on a Devil's Reins
10. They Take What They Want
11. Amethyst

Future Palace's music has always explored internal struggles, and »Distortion« is the brutal climax of this approach. The album title, derived from the psychological term cognitive distortion, reflects a world where changing perceptions trap individuals in recurring pitfalls. »Distortion« addresses various mental illnesses and personal struggles, from ADHD to depression to narcissism. The band's third album is a powerful force of emotions, cycles, and cries of desperation, overwhelming listeners with its intensity.

The band's creativity shines as they tackle demanding topics with fresh perspectives. On »Distortion«, they build on their previous work by incorporating new elements, like orchestral interjections in 'The Echoes of Disparity', which combines brutal screams and chant-like passages to convey psychological struggle. 'Panic Paralysis' features a massive vocal motif with an arabesque touch, while 'They Take What They Want' dives into emotional depths, blending raw metalcore with gentle vocal passages and massive choirs.

Despite the album's emotional intensity, »Distortion« was created amid excessive demands. Produced by Julian Breucker and Christoph Wieczorek, known for their work with Annisokay, Beyond the Black, and Smash Into Pieces, the recording process was grueling. Singer Maria Lessing recorded the album with a root infection and after wisdom tooth surgery, adding stress but enhancing the songs' authenticity. Guitarist Manuel Kohlert notes that the album reflects the band's experience as a heavy touring band, capturing the feelings of being on the road and contemplating their existence.
Despite its challenges, »Distortion« carries a piece of hope. 'Decarabia' tells a bittersweet story about a depressed couple, while 'The Echoes of Disparity', featuring Charlie Rolfe of As Everything Unfolds, is militantly rebellious, addressing abuse of power and the oppression of women. Lessing emphasizes the importance of female support to convey the song's message loudly.

The band has just announced their headline tour across Europe and the UK including support from Our Promise, kicking off in October 2024.

Catch Future Palace live on the following dates:

»Headline Tour 2024«

  • 17.10. Nuremberg, DE @Hirsch
  • 18.10. Vienna, AT @ Flex
  • 19.10. Budapest, HU @Analog Music Hall
  • 22.10. Rague, CZ @Rock Cafe
  • 23.10. Warsaw, PL @Hydrozagadka
  • 24.10. Gdansk, PL @Drizzly Grizzly
  • 26.10. Helsinki, FI @On the Rocks
  • 28.10. Stockholm, SWE @Kollektivet Livet
  • 29.10. Copenhagen, DK @Pumpehuset
  • 30.10. Oslo, NO @John Dee
  • 31.10. Gothenburg, SWE @Musikens Hus
  • 01.11. Hamburg, DE @Gruenspan
  • 02.11. Bremen, DE @Schlachthof
  • 28.11. Hanover, DE @Musikzentrum
  • 29.11. Frankfurt, DE @Batschkapp
  • 30.11. Cologne, DE @Essigfabrik (Upgrade!)
  • 02.12. Paris, FR @Supersonic Records
  • 04.12. London, UK @The Garage
  • 05.12. Manchester, UK @Rebellion
  • 06.12. Antwerp, BE @Trix
  • 07.12. Amsterdam, NL @Melkweg
  • 09.12. Stuttgart, DE @Club Cann
  • 10.12. Bern, CH @Stellwerk
  • 12.12 Zurich, CH @Dynamo
  • 13.12. Munich, DE @Backstage Werk
  • 15.12. Berlin, DE @Huxleys

»Festivals 2024«

  • 22.06. Full Force Festival, DE
  • 23.06. Graspop Metal Meeting, DE
  • 28.06. Resurrection Fest, ES
  • 27.07. QStock Festival, FI
  • 31.07. - 03.08. Wacken Open Air, DE
  • 14.⁠ ⁠- 17-08. Summer Breeze Open Air, DE
  • 15.⁠ ⁠- 17.08. Reload Festival, DE
  • 15.⁠ ⁠- 18.08. Motocultor Festival, FR
  • 31.08. Metal Hammer Awards, DE


Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about