Award-winning duo Ferris & Sylvester have released the brand new single ‘I Should Be On A Train’, the title track of their forthcoming EP out October 2nd via LAB Records. The song premiered on Bob Harris’ Radio 2 show who said, “I’m a big fan of Ferris & Sylvester. Dynamic and brilliant music.” This was followed by a video premiere with American Songwriter Magazine.

Written, recorded and produced by Ferris & Sylvester, ‘I Should Be On A Train’ is an explosive blues ballad, which follows the musings of a woman planning her escape, but not having the courage to leave the one she loves. It was originally written in the back of a tour bus between Prague and Vienna in February, but the tune came to life and took on a new meaning in their studio this spring.

The dreamy video pairs Super 8 footage shot by the duo in lockdown with clips from their last headline show before the Covid-19 shutdown at Paradiso, Amsterdam. The performance footage looks like flashbacks to a different time, compared with the film footage where the pair are alone, walking through untouched countryside.

‘I Should Be On A Train’ opens the band’s much anticipated EP of the same name, which will be out digitally as well as on limited edition 12" vinyl, now available to pre-order here.

About the recordings Ferris & Sylvester say, “The world is adapting to a new reality, and we’ve been determined to adapt with it and get creative. It can be difficult in isolation to know how to move forward. People are lonely, overwhelmed and yearning to connect. We were busy writing for future projects, trying to map out the next chapters. But we decided it was more important to give what we can now. All we know is we are happiest when sharing our music and we hope this brings joy to people.”

Working in the face of adversity, Ferris & Sylvester have used the past months as inspiration for new music, learning new instruments and production techniques and building their online connection with fans. In May, the band released the beautiful ‘Everyone Is Home’, described by Clash Magazine as “the duo’s very own isolation anthem”, which also features on the I Should Be On A Train EP. The heartfelt lyrics recognise the loneliness in the uncertain times yet also celebrate the togetherness, bravery and resilience that has come with it.

During lockdown, Ferris & Sylvester have hosted successful weekly live streams, and raised money to help local venues stay in business via the Music Venue Trust, of which they are patrons. The duo played a very special fundraiser for the Spiritual Bar in London, a legendary music space and very special to the pair, as it is where they first met and cut their teeth on stage together.

The upcoming new five-track EP captures Ferris & Sylvester’s unique blend of blues, Americana and folk, whilst also seeing them expand on their sound. ‘Knock You Down’ features wistful psychedelic touches, while the groove-laden riffs of ‘Good Man’ are intertwined with Ravi Shankar influences. The EP closes with a cover of The Beatles’ ‘With A Little Help From My Friends’, inspired by their lockdown livestreams where they shared a new cover every week with their fans.

The I Should Be On A Train EP finds Ferris & Sylvester thriving in the world’s state of transition, taking the opportunity to explore new territories, spurred on by the success of the past and looking forward to the future.

Ferris & Sylvester have made a distinct mark on the live scene both in the UK and across the Atlantic. This is set to continue in 2021 as they have announced their largest headline shows for next year. The band will tour the UK throughout February and March, with a London headline show at Lafayette on March 1st. The band will then head off for a six date tour across the US and Canada. Tickets are available here and full tour dates can be found below:


  • 25th – Exeter, Cavern
  • 26th – Nottingham, Metronome
  • 28th – Brighton, Green Door Store


  • 1st – London, Lafayette
  • 3rd – Manchester, Night & Day
  • 4th – Leeds, Hyde Park Book Club
  • 6th – Glasgow, King Tuts


  • 25th – Los Angeles, Hotel Café
  • 27th – Chicago, Martyr’s
  • 30th – Nashville, High Watt


  • 1st – Washington DC, Songbyrd
  • 2nd – New York City, Rockwood Music Hall
  • 3rd – Toronto, Drake Hotel


  1. I Should Be On A Train
  2. Knock You Down
  3. Everyone Is Home
  4. Good Man
  5. With A Little Help From My Friends

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More info
More about