Liverpool-based black metal trio, DAWN RAY'D, released the second single from their upcoming album, Behold Sedition Plainsong. The track - titled Like Smoke Into Fog - is streaming on all digital services now. An accompanying video is premiering alongside a long form interview over at Metal Injection. Behold Sedition Plainsong will be released on October 25 via Prosthetic Records; preorders are available now.

Watch the video for Like Smoke Into Fog via Metal Injection

The video was shot by Washington Buckley in Yorkshire, UK; a photo from the same location adorns the cover of Behold Sedition Plainsong.

Of the track, the band comments: "Like Smoke Into Fog was written to be uncompromising in it's attack on the abuses of power we see all around us, from cops, to the church to the borders. There is also a comment about the way the state and church have been the gate keepers of marriage in an attempt to divide us, for shame, how dare they target love."

The follow up to 2017's The Unlawful Assembly, Behold Sedition Plainsong is a call to arms and a potential catalyst for positive radical change. The first audio from the album can be heard HERE in the form of evocative album intro, Raise The Flails, with its rallying cry -‘It’s time for new tales of resistance’. Behold Sedition Plainsong comprises of 11 tracks of what will surely become their trademark sound: pure black metal, shot through with sonic flecks of traditional folk. Each song is an emotional response to a political struggle, with a clear focus on ecological destruction and anti-capitalism.

DAWN RAY'D will tour around the release of the album and through to the new year. Further live dates are currently in the pipeline. Behold Sedition Plainsong will be available in physical (LP, CD) and digital formats. The vinyl will be available in Black (500 copies), Silver (200 copies, mail-order only), Dark Green (200 copies, mail-order only); both CD and LP versions are available as part of a T-shirt bundle. Click HERE for all purchase options.

1. Raise The Flails

2. The Smell Of Ancient Dust
3. Like Smoke Into Fog
4. To All, To All, To All!
5. A Time For Courage At The Borderlands
6. Songs In The Key Of Compromise
7. Until The Forge Goes Cold
8. A Stone's Throw
9. Soon Will Be The Age of Lessons Learnt
10. Salvation Rite
11. The Curse, The Dappled Light

Upcoming DAWN RAY'D shows:
  • 23 October - The Black Heart - London
  • 24 October - Gorilla Studios - Hull
  • 25 October - Stuck On A Name - Nottingham
  • 26 October - Rough Trade - Nottingham *Free In Store*
  • 27 October - The Pipeline - Brighton (w/Pijn)
  • 31 October - Mother’s Ruin - Bristol
  • 01 November - Henry’s Cellar Bar - Edinburgh
  • 2 November - Damnation Festival - Leeds
Dates with False:
  • 7 November - Alte Meierei, Kiel, DE
  • 8 November - Ungdomshuset, Copenhagen, DE
  • 9 November - Mörtelwerk, Leipzig, DE
  • 10 November - Underdogs, Prague, CZ (w/Imperial Triumphant)
  • 11 November - Zukunft am Ostkreuz, Berlin, DE
  • 12 November - Music City, Antwerp, BE
  • 13 November - De Onderbroek, Nijmegen, NL
  • 14 November - PMK, Innsbruck, AT
  • 15 November - Venster 99, Vienna, AT
  • 16 November - Aurora, Budapest, HU
  • 17 November - AKC Attack, Zagreb, CR
  • 18 November - Sub, Graz, AT
  • 19 November - Kochareal, Zurich, CH
  • 20 November - TBA, Clermond Ferrand, FR
  • 21 November - Espace B, Paris, FR
  • 22 November - Jugend Kultur Cafe, Troisdorf, DE
  • 6 December - Soup Kitchen, Manchester, UK (w/Pijn)
  • 31 December - Boston Music Room - London w/ Akercocke
  • 25 January - Warhorns Winterfest, The Trades, Rotherham

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about