Canadian post-hardcore quartet Rarity have released two brand new singles, 'Kiss!' and 'Sick to my Stomach'. The tracks are taken from the band's upcoming third album Lower Feeling, due for release on 7th June via New Damage Records.

Check out the video for 'Kiss!' here:
Stream 'Kiss!' and 'Sick to my Stomach' here:
Pre-order Lower Feeling here:

Commenting on the new tracks, vocalist Loeden Learn says:

"'Kiss!' is about forgetting all of the aspects in life that you can’t control, throwing responsibility away for a while, and just sitting down and smoking a nice joint. It’s about learning to let go of things you can’t control. "'Sick To My Stomach' is just straight up an angry riff song, all of the angriest parts of my brain yelling at me and spitting in my face essentially. This song encompasses all of the things I don’t like about myself, and throws them at me with zero remorse. There are a lot of songs about hating yourself, but few are this angry."

Rarity's follow-up to 2019's lauded record, The Longest Lonesome, finds the perfect balance between catchy pop-punk anthems and the gripping intensity of their post-hardcore roots.

Discussing the new album, Learn adds:

"This record at the end of the day is about growth. Growth as human beings, growth as friends, growth as four musicians trying to make the best songs they possibly can in a band they love. This record is a record of love, a record of passion and a record of brutal honesty. The lyrics are personal and introspective, with themes that I absolutely hated talking about with every fibre of my being. My worst fears and greatest dreams. This record is about losing self control, not being able to hold your brain together in times of sadness and pain, and taking things you have no control over way too seriously.

"While the lyrics may convey feelings of sadness and anger, the record itself couldn’t be further from. We loved writing this record, and we miss waking up every day being able to make this record. It is everything Rarity as a band have always wanted to be, and we’re just so happy to be here. We’re happy we’re able to make music and live this crazy emotional rollercoaster of a life that we live. We wouldn’t have it any other way. We truly sincerely hope people enjoy Lower Feeling as much as we enjoyed making it, because we really truly loved every second of it."

Originally uniting in 2014, the members of Rarity started touring straight out of high school and quickly amassed an avid following. In 2015, the Hamilton, ON-based outfit dropped their debut EP, Alive in Your Eyes, featuring the breakout single 'Anne Hathaway' and showcasing a mature blend of buoyant pop-punk and intricate post-hardcore that belied their relative youth.

A critically-acclaimed full-length, I Couldn’t Be Weaker, came the next year and, with fan-favourites like 'Stranger' and 'Exhale', proved the band’s quick rise to prominence was well-earned. Rarity saw their stock soar to impressive heights with high-profile tours and festival slots and, for a while, it seemed that they were unstoppable.

But then, in 2017, the band watched as their foundation started to weather and crumble. They faced a cesspool of legal struggles, illnesses, strained relationships, and the departure of two founding members. That left drummer Evan Woods, singer Loeden Learn, and guitarist Adam Clarke with some difficult decisions.

It would’ve been easy to throw in the towel – and they almost did – but self-doubt, strain, and conflict soon spurred unbridled creativity and Rarity, augmented by the addition of bassist Cole Gardner in 2018, realised there was plenty to fight for.

The band emerged in 2019 with their critically praised comeback record The Longest Lonesome, which was still rooted in accessible, hook-laden melodies, but with a sharper edge and more potent distillation of their various influences – from metal and hardcore to pop-punk, alternative, and much in between.

Now, Rarity look forward to starting their next chapter in 2024, re-energised and with a new found wealth of creativity, as they continue to carve their own niche in the pop-punk/post-hardcore scene.

Lower Feeling Tracklisting:
1. Keep it to Yourself
3. Brain Dance
4. who gives a fuck?
5. Kiss!
6. Sick to my Stomach
7. New Paint
8. Creature Comfort
9. Shit Eater
10. Ignore Everything

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about