BrhyM, the collaborative project featuring Bruce Hornsby and the experimental chamber ensemble yMusic, have released their new album, Deep Sea Vents via Zappo Productions/Thirty Tigers. An album of 10 songs about water and the ways we live with, in, or against it, Deep Sea Vents is Hornsby and yMusic as you have never heard them but also instantly identifiable in their own ways. Hornsby’s instant melodic ease joins their rhythmic precision and endless versatility, pulling each toward new currents. The album was produced by Hornsby and Rob Moose and recorded in both Williamsburg, VA and in New York, NY. It features additional contributions from jazz legend Branford Marsalis, Mark Dover and drummer Chad Wright.

Of the project on its release day, Bruce Hornsby states: I’ve been doing this long enough to have been asked for a comment on new albums for virtually every different format one can think of, from LPs, cassettes, and CDs to digital downloads to the now-ubiquitous streams (alas, I missed the eight-track era!), and I’ve been fortunate enough to have intrigued enough ears (and semi-horrified a few others) to find myself deeply engaged for a very long time during this long career. Over the last decade-plus my journey has included a number of attempts at bringing modern classical content and sounds to the classic pop songwriting structure, asking numerous audiences to explore Ives, Ligeti, Messiaen, Schoenberg, Webern and our local American sentimental favorite Elliott Carter.... All potentially leading to this moment and this release. Today, my co-conspirators yMusic, whom you may have heard on recent pieces like “Never In This House” and “Blinding Light Of Dreams” from Absolute Zero as well as “Is This It” and “Had Enough” from the more-recent ‘Flicted, and I have released Deep Sea Vents under the nom de plume BrhyM… So come take the deep dive down to the Deep Sea Vents, and come looking for chill-inducing moments with us.

You can also listen today to the gorgeous but heartbreaking track “Foreign Sounds”. The song finds Hornsby picking up the croon of George Jones to share the perspective of a clownfish, lost at sea because of the underwater noise pollution that is currently wrecking ecosystems. It came from Hornsby’s rapacious reading, but it is much more than an academic exercise; it is, instead, a true ballad for the blighted, the heartsick, and the stranded. Previously released songs were “The Wild Whaling Life” and “Deep Blue”.

BrhyM’s genesis came to be when yMusic and Bruce Hornsby performed back-back sets before Bon Iver at the Eaux Claires Music and Arts Festival in 2016, and afterwards Hornsby reached out to ask them to play at his Funhouse Fest the next year. A musical exchange began, with yMusic first appearing on Hornsby’s 2019 album, Absolute Zero. Deeply inspired by the collaboration, the two outfits decided to head out on the road together. The shows occurred in late February and early March 2020, ending right before the Covid shutdown, and planted the seed of what has become Deep Sea Vents. Each night they performed as an encore a song they had composed together which ultimately became the album’s title track. With the lock-down freeing up everyone’s schedules, yMusic and Hornsby resumed writing together remotely in the fall of 2020

yMusic is a leading American chamber ensemble featuring Moose, CJ Camerieri, Nadia Sirota, Gabriel Cabezas, Hideaki Aomori and Alex Sopp. Now in its 16th year, the group explores work on both sides of the classical/popular music divide and has lent their instantly-recognizable sound to commissions and projects by a dizzying array of artists including Andrew Norman, Anohni, Missy Mazzoli, John Legend, Paul Simon and Caroline Shaw. It's this same interest in collaborative and boundaryless genre exploration with which 3x GRAMMY winner (and also ten-time Grammy loser!) and songwriter Bruce Hornsby has approached his career. With a staggering 24 albums and numerous groups, contributions and collaborations under his belt, the pianist and multi-instrumentalist continues to be a source of inspiration for young artists and an ardent collaborator.

Bruce Hornsby and yMusic will hit the road as BrhyM this spring. The shows will kick off on March 7th in Urbana, IL and wrap in Denver, CO on April 23rd. Hornsby recently appeared at Celtic Connections in January and at the Glasgow Royal Concert Hall. Bruce also kicked off BBC Radio 2’s Piano Room month with a performance live from the Maida Vale Studios with the BBC Concert Orchestra in Vernon Kay’s mid-morning Radio 2 show - the most listened to radio programme in the UK.

Track Listing:

1. The Wild Whaling Life 4:21

2. (My) Theory Of Everything 3:26

3. Platypus Wow 3:49

4. Phase Change 4:22

5. Foreign Sounds 4:30

6. The Wake Of St Brendan 3:40

7. Deep Blue 3:22

8. The Baited Line 2:35

9. Barber Booty 3:05

10. Deep Sea Vents 3:34

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about