28th January 2022 sees the release of ‘WELCOME TO THE PLANET’, the new album from Big Big Train on their own label, English Electric Recordings.

‘WELCOME TO THE PLANET' comes six months after the release of the band’s critically acclaimed top 40 album ‘COMMON GROUND’. Big Big Train founder Gregory Spawton explains the short time between albums: “The experience of the pandemic has shown us that we need to make the best use of our time on Earth. With that in mind and with new band members on board giving us a fresh head of steam, we decided on a speedy return to the studio to write and record Welcome To The Planet.”

As with ‘COMMON GROUND’, ‘WELCOME TO THE PLANET’ sees Big Big Train retain their progressive roots but also take influence from all spheres of music. The album’s opener ‘Made From Sunshine’, co-written by guitarist Dave Foster and singer David Longdon, has guitar lines redolent of Johnny Marr and vocal harmonies reminiscent of the Finn Brothers/Crowded House, with violinist Clare Lindley sharing lead vocals with Longdon.

Elsewhere on the album, keyboard player Carly Bryant gets her first Big Big Train writing credit and lead vocal on the captivating title track. The two recent singles ‘The Connection Plan’ and ‘Lanterna’ are included along with a winter themed song ‘Proper Jack Froster’, a bittersweet tale of childhood. The album is completed by the delicate acoustic ‘Capitoline Venus’, the beautiful ‘Oak And Stone’ and a pair of dazzling instrumentals, ‘A Room With No Ceiling’ and ‘Bats In The Belfry’, written by guitarist/keyboardist Rikard Sjöblom and drummer Nick D’Virgilio respectively.

For their March 2022 UK tour, which will be their most extensive to date and which will culminate with a show at the prestigious London Palladium, David Longdon (lead vocals, flute), Nick D’Virgilio (drums, vocals), Rikard Sjöblom (guitars, keyboards, vocals), Greg Spawton (bass), Carly Bryant (keyboards, guitars, vocals), Dave Foster (guitars) and Clare Lindley (violin, vocals) will be joined by a five piece brass ensemble. In addition to two further UK shows in September, the band expects to announce North American and continental European tour dates shortly.


  • 15.03.2022 – (UK) York, Barbican
  • 16.03.2022 – (UK) Cambrighe, Corn Exchange
  • 18.03.2022 – (UK) Birmingham, Symphony Hall
  • 19.03.2022 – (UK) Bath, Forum*
  • 21.03.2022 – (UK) Glasgow, Royal Concert Hall
  • 22.03.2022 – (UK) Manchester, Bridgewater Hall
  • 23.03.2022 – (UK) London, Palladium

* supported by Marathon featuring Mark Kelly from Marillion

Tickets on sale now: https://myticket.co.uk/artists/big-big-train

Big Big Train ‘WELCOME TO THE PLANET’ – Tracklist

Part One

  • Made From Sunshine
  • The Connection Plan
  • Lanterna
  • Capitoline Venus
  • A Room With No Ceiling

Part Two

  • Proper Jack Froster
  • Bats In The Belfry
  • Oak And Stone
  • Welcome To The Planet

‘WELCOME TO THE PLANET’ is released 28th January 2022 on English Electric.

Big Big Train was initially founded in 1990 and went through several line-up changes, but in 2009 the band decided on a fresh start, and the core of the current version of the band was born. Since then, they have gone on to win four Progressive Music Awards, played sold out shows and seen their last two albums, 2019’s ‘Grand Tour’ and July 2021’s ‘Common Ground’, each reach #1 in the Official UK rock charts and break into the top 40 in the Official UK album charts. The band toured the UK for the first time in 2019, culminating in a sold out show at London's Hackney Empire, subsequently released as the critically acclaimed Blu-ray 'Empire', and 2022 will see the band performing their largest UK tour to date along with their first ever dates in North America.

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about