Today, Band of Horses have shared “In Need of Repair”, the latest song to be revealed from their forthcoming album. “In Need of Repair” showcases band founder Ben Bridwell’s heartfelt lyrics that touch on the fracturing of relationships, the hypotheticals that come from those moments, and the honesty it takes to admit you need to fix what is intrinsically wrong. Bridwell’s trademark lyrics are elegant in their stark simplicity as he pleads, “It’s not enough” over odd tonic chording and breezy, laconic drumming. The song is also featured on New Music Daily on Apple Music. Listen to “In Need of Repair” HERE.

The song is included on their sixth studio album and first record in more than five years Things Are Great, out January 21, 2022 via BMG. Sonically, the album is a return to their earlier work and the kind of raw ethos that lies at the heart of Band of Horses. It’s available for pre-order HERE.


“In Need Of Repair” follows previously released single “Crutch,” a bittersweet song buoyed by its charming cat-centric official music video.


Press for “Crutch”

"Things Are Great‘s lead single ‘Crutch’ finds a pleasing midpoint between the Shins and My Morning Jacket. But mostly it sounds like a hungry young band influenced by Band Of Horses, which I mean as a huge compliment." - Stereogum
"The impressionistic ‘Crutch’ features the band's familiar mix of double-time acoustic guitars, occasionally inscrutable lyrics and singer Ben Bridwell's longing, ethereal vocals." - Billboard
"‘Crutch’ is a pleasant, guitar-heavy jangle that feels both bittersweet and romantic" - Consequence
"A combination of catchy folk-rock and blown-out arena indie that centers around bittersweet wordplay." - FLOOD
"The track marries big, bright guitars—with a sliding electric riff over acoustic jangle-pop strums" - Paste
"‘Crutch’ cleverly hides the anxious ruminations of its lyrics behind a breezy wall of sun-soaked acoustic strums and the sort of simple, ringing electric lead hook that this quintet has long specialized in." - Guitar World
"‘Crutch’ stands atop handsome guitars and Bridwell doing his best to smile through tough times." - Uproxx

Things Are Great Tracklisting
1. Warning Signs
2. Crutch
3. Tragedy of the Commons
4. In The Hard Times
5. In Need of Repair
6. Aftermath
7. Lights
8. Ice Night We’re Having
9. You Are Nice To Me
10. Coalinga

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about