Formed in 2009 by Andrew and Ben Yardley as a side project for Melbourne band Laura, the group's long-awaited debut album Lush Desolation will be released on the 30th of November 2020. Today the trio releases a new single titled Luckless Hunter, which should appeal to all shoe-gazeys out there!

SENS DEP comment: "The title was inspired by the nocturnes of Frederic Remington whose mysterious work (which you can check out here) filled with moonlight and firelight which has connected with many via hardwired knowledge of the subtle anxiety that comes with night and darkness.

Luckless Hunter gets its sense of place from the hunting shack in which it was recorded. Yet this place and the pure tones are offset and detuned by manipulated tape post recording confounding as Sens Dep’s focused approach to capture the colour of night."
Recorded over four years in a tin shed, an alpine hunter's hut, concrete inter zones, and the Tasmanian wilderness, Lush Desolation is as much a product of the environments it was recorded in as the ideas themselves. A sonic tension underpins much of the album, a delicate balance that isn't always resolved. Lyrically the record dissects the relationship between humans and our environment and how that dynamic continues to change, often beyond recognition. It's a challenging and transformative album, intimate and epic, a paean to the years of work that went into it.

1. New Dawn
2. The Gate
3. Lush Desolation
4. Server Hum, Deep Sleep
5. Nebuvital
6. Bound
7. To Build A Fire
8. Will You
9. Come Back For Me
10. Drowning Entanglement
11. Luckless Hunter

Music Video

Krijg het laatste FrontView Magazine nieuws in je Facebook nieuwsoverzicht:

More about