The latest triumphant single release by CELLAR DARLING, the hyped new band of ex-ELUVEITIE members Anna Murphy, Merlin Sutter and Ivo Henzi, confirms that CELLAR DARLING are a force to be reckoned with, and they are just getting started!

“’This Is The Sound’ is the kind of album you instantly fall in love with […] one of the finest and most beautiful albums that you would hear in 2017“ - 5/5, Heavymag, AUS

The latest single 'Avalanche' promotes their highly anticipated debut album »This Is The Sound«, due to be released on Nuclear Blast Records in just a couple of weeks, on June 30th 2017. 'Avalanche' tells yet another grim abstract story, painting a picture of the end of things. In band’s own words:

“We'd like to take you on another journey into a picturesque, abstract world. Listen to the summoners of the ‘Avalanche'. A story about a cult and a freezing end to an intimate deathwish.

Shot in the heat of beautiful Tenerife, an intentionally contradictory setting, this video tells you our story with symbolism and movement, contrasts & metaphors. So sit back and let your imagination run wild, enjoy! “

Watch the amazing new clip 'Avalanche' here:

The band’s previous single 'Black Moon' confirmed the Swiss ‘newcomers’ are in it to win it. Released only 3 weeks ago to an overwhelming response, 'Black Moon' has placed CELLAR DARLING firmly on the map with interest pouring in from all over the world, appealing to rock and metal fans alike with a signature folky hurdy-gurdy tones, Henzi’s trademark guitar riffs, Sutter’s powerful drumming and of course Anna Murphy’s unique voice she has become known for, leading us through an apocalyptic vision of the end of the world as seen by different cultures and religions, all engulfed in a lunar eclipse.

Watch the music video here:

"»This Is The Sound«…is sensibly chaotic. It perfectly captures the feeling of being in the eye of a nasty storm, representing a moment of pure bliss, along with the underlying turbulence." - 9.0 – Owais Nabi,

In addition, the band released the first part of their album documentary “Out of the cellar, into the light”. Part 1, entitled “This is who we are”, is a great insight into the band’s past, the three characters who formed the band and the glue that holds them together.

Watch the documentary here:

“A fantastic album, with some mean hurdy gurdy playing on it!” – 9/9, Powerplay, UK

After spending over decade touring the world with their previous band, the trio in its new incarnation are once again ready to take on the world. CELLAR DARLING will support the legendary EVANESCENCE in Pratteln, Switzerland on June 7th 2017, along with playing other summer festivals this year. Then band will also open for DELAIN this fall in Europe, during their very special tour featuring Marco Hietala (NIGHTWISH).

  • 08.07. CH Pratteln - Z7 (w/ EVANESCENCE)
  • 14.07. CH Bôle - ParaBôle Festival
  • 18.08. D Dinkelsbühl - Summer Breeze


  • 26.10. F Paris - Alhambra
  • 27.10. CH Pratteln - Z7
  • 28.10. D Bochum - Zeche
  • 29.10. D Munich - Backstage
  • 31.10. UK Utrecht - Tivoli Vredenburg
  • 01.11. UK London - Koko

"CELLAR DARLING convinces and creates happiness for everyone who found their way to this show." - (Lucerne show, Apr 2017)

The debut album »This Is The Sound« will be released on June 30th 2017 via Nuclear Blast records.

Pre-order has been launched and you can already get the album in the digital format on all platforms, or on a CD or double vinyl. For a little extra content, a limited digibook is also available. It features 3 bonus tracks! Each band member chose a cover song to interpret in CELLAR DARLING’s own, unique style. Anna picked 'The Cold Song' from Henry Purcell’s “King Arthur” opera, Tears for Fears’ 'Mad World', was chosen by Ivo and to top it all off - the epic Queen classic 'The Prophet’s Song' - Merlin’s all time favourite. Also included in the digibook will be an alternative and limited cover artwork plus an extended 32-page booklet, filled with the band’s notes on the stories behind their songs.

Pre-order the digital version now and receive ‘Avalanche’, 'Black Moon', 'Challenge' and 'Fire, Wind and Earth' as instant grats or stream the songs here:

»This Is The Sound« will see the light of day on June 30th featuring 14 original tracks:

  1. Avalanche
  2. Black Moon
  3. Challenge
  4. Hullaballoo
  5. Six Days
  6. The Hermit
  7. Water
  8. Fire, Wind & Earth
  9. Rebels
  10. Under The Oak Tree…
  11. …High Above These Crowns
  12. Starcrusher
  13. Hedonia
  14. Redemption

Bonus tracks, available exclusively on the digibook:

  1. The Cold Song
  2. Mad World
  3. The Prophet’s Song
More about